Your go-to source for performance boating.
HomeIn the NewsWant to Race The Racers?

Want to Race The Racers?

Between Katheryn Theisen, a board member of the Space Coast Super Boat Grand Prix/Thunder On Cocoa Beach race in Cocoa Beach, Fla., Micheal Stancombe, the notable Peppers Racing throttleman and owner of Pro Marine RC in Indiana, and JJ Turk, an offshore racer whose family owns the La Quinta Inn of Cocoa Beach, they all share the same sentiments when it comes to the new “Race the Racers” event coming to the Super Boat International season opener next week (May 18-20).

cocoa rc1 sotw

The first Thunder On Cocoa Beach “Race The Racers” RC boat event is going to take place on Saturday, May 19, during the annual Space Coast Super Boat Grand Prix in Cocoa Beach, Fla. Photo courtesy Tomas Velazquez

“The new ‘Race the Racers’ RC boat event is all about the kids and making Thunder On Cocoa Beach more family friendly,” Theisen said. “Our goal is toget a bunch of kids out there, let them try out the RC boats and interact with the race teams. This is our first year doing this so we’re not sure what to expect, but it should be fun. Now racing fans can come out Saturday, walk around the pits, meet the racers, see the boats and even get their own racing experience.”

The RC activity is scheduled for Saturday from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. in front of the Exploration Tower in Port Canaveral. Theisen said some race teams are going to supply their own boats, but that the other boats are going to provided by Stancombe’s Pro Marine RC and that Turk, who is going to have his own mini No Vacancy RC boat on hand, is going to be there to make sure everything runs smoothly because Stancombe is going to be busy racing with Trent Weyant in the first race in the new TNT Offshore Racing 27-foot Activator.

Read more: Want to Race The Racers?

Related stories
Cocoa Beach Still Hot
Weyant, Stancombe Set To Team Up In Superboat Vee-Class Boat
Unlimited Class And More Solid For SBI Season Opener In Cocoa Beach
PBC, CRC, Phantom And More Shine In SBI Season Opener