Your go-to source for performance boating.
HomeRacingRacingsShane Prevails With Woman Crew Chief In 68th Annual Indiana Governors Cup

Shane Prevails With Woman Crew Chief In 68th Annual Indiana Governors Cup

With a setup courtesy of U-1 Miss HomeStreet/Miss Madison team crew chief Cindy Shirley of Everett, Wash., driver Jimmy Shane claimed the 68th annual Indiana Governor’s Cup title last weekend in Madison, Ind. That achievement made Shirley the first woman crew chief to win an H1 Unlimited Hydroplane Racing Series championship.


Shane (in the blue U-1 hydro) came into Madison trailing Tate.

To claim the title, Shane won one of his two preliminary heats, as well as the final, on the Ohio River against Andrew Tate in the U-9 Auxier Marketing presents Delta/Realtrac. The two drivers had been dueling all season, and Shane came into Madison trailing Tate in national championship points.

“We threw everything we could at it and I am really thankful for Cindy for the great set-up,” said Shane. “We are ecstatic to come home and win in front of our fans—what a great win for the citizens of Madison, Indiana.”

A long-time crew member of the Miss Madison race team, Shirley was promoted to crew chief in the off-season.

“I am ecstatic,” she said. “We fine-tuned all day and came up with a set-up we were happy about. Jimmy made the most amazing start I think I have ever seen. So many were just dragging back, and he nailed it full speed.”


Crew chief Cindy Shirley (second from left) and her team nailed the setup for Shane.

Tate finished second behind Shane, followed by Tom Thompson in the U-11 Reliable Diamond Tool presents J&D’s and Dustin Echols Sultan, in the U-440 Bucket List Racing hydroplane taking fourth place.

Related Story: Tate Wins Inaugural Southern Cup To Take Early H1 Unlimited Season Points Lead