Your go-to source for performance boating.
HomeIn the NewsLake of the Ozarks Shootout Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Announced

Lake of the Ozarks Shootout Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Announced

The 2018 Lake of the Ozarks Shootout Bob Morgan Memorial Hall of Fame class has been selected, and Speedonthewater.com is pleased to announce that its own Jason Johnson is being inducted along with three deserving people and one dedicated sponsor. Now in its sixth year, the Hall of Fame induction ceremony is going to take place Tuesday, August 21, at The Stables at Cannon Smoked Saloon in Sunrise Beach, Mo.

jj pierce

Veteran marine industry journalist Jason Johnson, left, is going to be one of five inductees in the 2018 Lake of the Ozarks Shootout Bob Morgan Memorial Hall of Fame class. Photo by Tony Fitzgerald

The first writer to be included in the exclusive Hall of Fame, Johnson, who owns Speedonthewater.com, has been covering the Lake of the Ozarks Shootout since his tenure as an editor with the Powerboat magazine team that helped put the Shootout on the map nationally and internationally.

“I’m humbled by the recognition for myself and for the Speedonthewater.com team that has helped take our website and magazine coverage of the event to another level,” said Johnson, who has been a contributor to the event program for several years. “While I can think of many people who are just as deserving of the honor, I’ll take the acknowledgement and continue to provide quality coverage for one of the nation’s best performance boating events.”

Speaking of performance boating, the first business is also being inducted into the Hall of Fame in the form of dedicated Shootout sponsor, Performance Boat Center. With Mark Waddington and Brett Manire leading the charge at the flourishing sales and service center that is part of the popular Redhead Yacht Club, Performance Boat Center has been integral in the increased fundraising efforts over the past five years, four of which as the event’s title sponsor.

The Shootout committee members said that Performance Boat Center’s generosity is a big reason the event has donated more than $1 million dollars to local charities over the past decade since it has been held at Captain Ron’s Bar and Grill.

Two longtime participants who have pushed their respective V-bottom boats faster than most everyone in the event’s history are also joining this year’s class—Michael “Doc” Janssen and Dennis Parvey.

A world-renowned spinal surgeon, Janssen, who founded the Center for Spine and Orthopedics in Denver, has been an avid supporter and promoter of the event as well as a class winner many times over throughout his 15-plus years of participating in the event at his “home away from home” on the lake.

Laying claim to the fastest V-bottom ever on the Shootout’s previous one-mile course, Parvey—a dentist from Minnesota—has been a participant in the event for more than 20 years. In 2016, Parvey, along with his son, Jason, ran a record-setting 165 mph in his 43-foot Black Thunder Powerboats V-bottom. Needless to say, he’s been a class winner many times over.

Last but not least, Rob Lauer—the original owner of Shooters 21, which hosted the Lake of the Ozarks Shootout for the first 19 years—also is being inducted into the Hall of Fame. For many years, Lauer was integral in the organization of the Shootout and a big advocate of the top-speed event that has brought hundreds of thousands of visitors to the lake over the years.

The class of 2018 is going to be part of the 30th anniversary celebration of the Lake of the Ozarks Shootout. Tickets for the celebration and dinner can be purchased in advance for $35 by calling 573-374-8400. Tables of eight can be purchased for $350, which includes a bottle of the 30th anniversary Shootout Whiskey from Knob Creek.

Related stories
Lake Of The Ozarks Shootout Hires Executive Director
High Five! New Shootout Hall Of Fame Members Recognized
Tomlinson, Bull, Sixkiller, Prince, Tagge And Melley Newest Shootout Hall Of Famers
Cosker, Newby, Smith and Dorris Family—Shootout Hall of Fame’s Newest Inductees
Fiore Leads 2015 Shootout Hall of Fame Inductees
Seebold, Smith and More to Join Shootout Hall of Fame
Shootout Announces First Hall of Fame Class