Your go-to source for performance boating.
HomeCommentaryEsteemed Company

Esteemed Company

As trite as it sounds, I never expected to receive a phone call from Ron Duggan, the main man behind the Lake of the Ozarks Shootout in Central Missouri, that the event’s committee decided to induct me into the Lake of the Ozarks Shootout Bob Morgan Memorial Hall of Fame. In fact, it still felt a bit surreal last night as I sat at the table with my wife, Stephanie, my longtime colleagues in the business, Teague Custom Marine owner Bob Teague and Shoot 2 Thrill Pix photographer Pete Boden, and two of my good friends from the lake—Diana Dorhauer (a fellow Hall of Fame member) and Justin Wagner of the widely respected Waves and Wheels.


On Wednesday, five new members, from left Michael “Doc” Janssen, Performance Boat Center‘s Mark Waddington, Jason Johnson, Rob Lauer and Dennis Parvey, were inducted into the Lake of the Ozarks Shootout Bob Morgan Memorial Hall of Fame. Photo courtesy Stephanie Johnson

Not only was I being honored with people I had interviewed and covered in this sport for many years, I was the first journalist to receive the esteemed recognition, which has been bestowed on some of the all-time greats, including John Cosker, Mike Fiore, Bob Morgan, Randy Scism, David Scott, John Tomlinson and many others who have had a hand in the event from an organizational standpoint.

This year marked the sixth time the Shootout inducted a class into the Hall of Fame that began in 2013 in honor of the late Bob Morgan, and the attendance at the event held at The Stables at Cannon Smoked Saloon was the largest one yet. It helps that one of the event founders, Rob Lauer, was recognized along with a legend at the lake, Michael “Doc” Janssen, the Shootout’s unofficial V-bottom king, Dennis Parvey, and the first business to get inducted, Performance Boat Center, which includes Mark Waddington, Brett Manire, Myrick Coil and a team of enthusiastic hard-working employees.

Read more: Esteemed Company

Related stories
Lake Of The Ozarks Shootout Hall Of Fame Class Of 2018 Announced