Your go-to source for performance boating.
HomeIn the NewsCosker, Newby, Smith and Dorris Family—Shootout Hall of Fame’s Newest Inductees

Cosker, Newby, Smith and Dorris Family—Shootout Hall of Fame’s Newest Inductees

In an announcement made by the Lake of the Ozarks Shootout Hall of Fame committee, five individuals are going to be recognized during the fourth annual Lake of the Ozarks Shootout Hall of Fame ceremony on Tuesday, Aug. 23 at the Stables at Cannon Smoked Saloon in Gravois Mills, Mo.


The fourth annual Lake of the Ozarks Shootout Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday, Aug. 23.

Along with one extremely worthy longtime participant—Mystic Powerboats founder John Cosker—the following individuals will be inducted into this year’s Shootout Hall of Fame.

The owners of PlayCraft Boats in Richland, Mo., Jim and Carolyn Dorris have a combined 40 years participating in the Shootout. They’ve also had a hand in building many other pontoon boats that have conquered the event’s one-mile course throughout the years.

Photographer Tom Newby, who was part of the Powerboat magazine crew that was given much of the credit for putting the Shootout on the map nationally, is being honored posthumously for his talent and efforts put forth covering the event. The 2007 Shootout was the final event Newby covered for the magazine—he died less than two weeks later during a magazine photo shoot in Sarasota, Fla.

Finally, Cosker, whose name appears on the Shootout’s Top Gun trophy several times, has had a huge hand in the continued speed gains the Shootout has seen over the years. Since 2003, boats built by his company in DeLand, Fla., have taken home 11 of the last 13 Top Gun titles. Of those victories, Cosker himself has throttled six of the winning boats, including the 2015 Top Gun champion—the 208-mph American Ethanol Mystic owned by Don Onken and driven by Myrick Coil.A retired Osage Beach firefighter and volunteer for the Shootout for 19 years, Rick Smith was the man in charge of the course for several years and is being recognized for his continued dedication and service.

Included in the evening’s festivities is a dinner and an induction ceremony. Doors open at 6 p.m., and a hearty prime rib dinner will be served starting at 7 p.m. The induction ceremony will begin after dinner. Tickets for the evening are $25 each and reservations can be made by calling 573-374-8400.

Related stories
Fiore Leads 2015 Shootout Hall of Fame Inductees
Seebold, Smith and More to Join Shootout Hall of Fame
Shootout Announces First Hall of Fame Class
Commentary Random Acts of Kindness: Sept. 11, 2007
Remembering Our Friend Tom Newby
Remembering Tom Newby: Connecting the Dots